New Puppy? Check Out the Kennel and Cover Package Deal
Top Banner
Pheasants Forever
Register   Login
Game Bird Hunts Store

Harpole's Ad

Harpole's Main Ad 2

Pheasant Hunting Forums:

In case you are looking for the old hunting forums - they have been archived and moved to Archived Hunting Forums
Where to start?
Last Post 20 Aug 2009 09:17 PM by Westfork. 13 Replies.
Printer Friendly
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sort:
PrevPrev NextNext
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
BrandonUser is Offline Pheasant Egg Pheasant Egg Send Private Message Posts:3 Brandon
--
17 Aug 2009 03:50 PM

I'm new to dog training.  I just picked up a 13 month old Germ Shorthair who's had no training.  She's house breaking very well with no accidents.  We've had her 3 days and she's getting the hang of SIT and DOWN.  She's learning OFF as well.  My problems are:

She's constantly putting her paws on the counter (hops down with the off command though)

She is hard headed and doesn't come when called very well.

Finally....where do I really start?  I'm trying to bond with her after taking her from her home.  At the same time, I want to train her.  What order to you teach the commands?  Am I going in the right order with SIT, DOWN, and COME being the first? 

Thanks for all the forthcoming help.

dogpowerUser is Offline Pheasant Chick Pheasant Chick Send Private Message Posts:60 dogpower
    --
    17 Aug 2009 05:06 PM

Learning to train a dog starting with an untrained GSP at that age is kinda like learning to swim by jumping off a ship in the middle of the ocean - tough to do, but if you're successful, you'll be d-mn good at it.