Pheasants Forever
Top Banner
Register   Login

Pheasant Hunting News

Pheasant Hunting and Sporting Clays News is your online source for hunting & shooting news. All of our news is organized by US state to make it easy for you to quickly find the Pheasant Hunting News that is of interest to you! Click on the link below to browse your states upland hunting news or use the search box above! If you have a hunting story you would like to submit please use this link:


News Articles

Nonresident Waterfowl Licenses Set Not To Move

PIERRE, S.D. – South Dakota’s nonresident waterfowl licenses have been set for 2005 by the Game, Fish and Parks Commission, and no three-day licenses will be moved.

"Last month’s proposal opened the possibility of moving 100 of central South Dakota’s three-day Unit NRW-00X licenses (formerly Unit 100X) to the northeast Unit NRW-00Y (formerly Unit 100Y)," said State Waterfowl Biologist Spencer Vaa of Brookings. "After public comment and review, the commission amended their proposal and chose not to move the three-day licenses."

No other changes were made from last month’s proposal. However, changes that have been set from 2004 include making the Bennett County nonresident licenses valid for the January Canada goose season in Bennett County and changing the unit codes to reflect the department’s new coding system.

The maximum number of nonresident waterfowl licenses to be issued by lottery is:

4,000 special nonresident waterfowl licenses,
2,000 early fall Canada goose temporary nonresident licenses,
2,000 fall, three-day temporary nonresident waterfowl licenses,
10,000 spring snow goose temporary nonresident licenses.
The licenses would be organized as follows:

Unit NRW-00A (formerly unit 100A): includes the counties of Union, Clay, Yankton, Bon Homme and Charles Mix. No more than 250 special nonresident licenses may be issued for this area;
Unit NRW-00B (formerly unit 100B): includes all open counties not listed in units NRW-00A or NRW-11A (Bennett County). No more than 3,725 special nonresident waterfowl licenses may be issued for this area.
Unit NRW-00C (formerly unit 100C): No more than 2,000 early fall Canada goose nonresident waterfowl licenses may be issued for this area.
Unit NRW-11A (formerly unit 100D – Bennett County): No more than 25 special nonresident waterfowl licenses may be issued for this area. These licenses would also be valid in Bennett County during the January Canada goose season.
Unit NRW-00X (formerly unit 100X): includes the counties of Potter, Stanley, Sully, Hughes and Lyman. No more than 1,500 fall, three-day nonresident waterfowl licenses may be issued for this area. These licenses are valid only on private property.
Unit NRW-00Y (formerly unit 100Y): includes the counties of Brown, Marshall, Roberts, Day, Grant, Clark, Codington, Deuel and Hamlin. No more than 500, three-day nonresident may be issued for this area.
Unit NRW-ST1 (formerly unit 100S): No more than 10,000 spring snow goose nonresident waterfowl licenses may be issued. These licenses are valid statewide and only during the Spring Light Goose Conservation Order.

Post Rating


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.



List Your Pheasant Hunting Preserve On

List Dog Breeders

Search For A Pheasant Hunting Guide Or Sporting Clays Course By Geographical Location